## Addison County Regional Planning Commission

14 Seminary Street Middlebury, VT 05753 • www.acrpc.org • Phone: 802.388.3141

## Meeting Minutes Addison County Regional Planning Commission Wednesday, May 10, 2023

Orwell:

Panton:

Ripton:

Salisbury:

Vergennes:

Waltham:

Whiting:

Ron Payne

Jeremy Grip

Shannon Haggett

Cheryl Brinkman

Jeff Glassberg

Jennifer Erwin

Shoreham: Nick Causton

Weybridge: Gioia Kuss

Starksboro: Richard Warren

ACRPC held its Annual Meeting at the Middlebury Inn with the Chair Stephen Pilcher of Monkton, presiding.

**ROLL CALL:** 

Addison: Chris Stackhouse

Bridport: Andrew Manning

Edward Payne

Bristol: Peter Grant

Cornwall: Stan Gryzb

Ferrisburgh: Arabella Holzapfel

Tim Davis

Steve Huffaker

Goshen:

Leicester:

Lincoln: Steve Revell

Middlebury: Hugh McLaughlin

Ross Conrad

Barbara Greenewalt

Monkton: Stephen Pilcher

Debra Sprague

New Haven: Harvey Smith

CITIZEN INTEREST REPRESENTATIVES:

Otter Creek Audubon Society: Otter Creek Natural Resources:

Addison County Farm Bureau:

Addison County Economic Development Corp: Addison County Chamber of Commerce:

ACRPC EXECUTIVE BOARD

Chair: Stephen Pilcher
Vice-Chair: Shannon Haggett
Secretary: Jamie Dayton
Treasurer: Ross Conrad
At Large: Jamie Dayton

Jamie Dayton Arabella Holzapfel Jeremy Grip STAFF

Executive Director: Adam Lougee GIS Manager: Hannah Andrew Land Use Planner: Katie Raycroft-Meyer Transportation Planner: Mike Winslow

Emergency Planner: Andrew L'Roe Office Manager/Bookkeeper: April Clodgo Energy Planner: Maddison Shropshire Eco-AmeriCorps member: Zach Roberts

Addison Bridport Bristol Cornwall Ferrisburgh Goshen Leicester Lincoln Middlebury Monkton New Haven Orwell Panton Ripton Salisbury Shoreham Starksboro Vergennes Waltham Weybridge Whiting

Regional Planning Commission

## Addison County Regional Planning Commission

14 Seminary Street Middlebury, VT 05753 • www.acrpc.org • Phone: 802.388.3141

**5:00 p.m. Social Hour**: The Commission took the time to informally chat with colleagues and staff.

**6:00 p.m. Speaker:** Mike Winslow, ACRPC's Transportation Planner, entertained the Commission and displayed his talents in other fields by telling the story of Lake Champlain from his book, "Lake Champlain, a Natural History"

**6:45 p.m. Dinner:** The Commission enjoyed a very tasty dinner provided by the Middlebury Inn.

**7:30 p.m. Annual Business Meeting:** Stephen Pilcher welcomed the Commission at 7:30 and opened the abbreviated business meeting.

Report of the Nominating Committee: Shannon Haggett reviewed the structure of the Executive Board and gave the Report of the Nominating Committee on their recommended slate of officers:

Ross Conrad, Chair Jamie Dayton, Vice Chair Cheryl Brinkman, Treasurer Arabella Holzapfel, Secretary Jeremy Grip, At large Joseph Andriano, At large Tim Davis, At large

Stephen thanked Shannon for the Nominating Committee's report. He then opened the floor to additional nominations for the Executive Board. Hearing none, Shannon Haggett moved that the Commission elect the slate of officers as recommended by the Nominating Committee. Steve Revell seconded the motion. The slate passed overwhelmingly on a voice vote. Ross Conrad abstained.

Bertha Hanson Award: Shannon Haggett, ACRPC's outgoing vice chair, and a member of the Maple Broadband Board, presented the Bertha Hanson Distinguished Service Award to Steven Huffaker, a delegate to ACRPC from the Town of Ferrisburgh and the Chair of Maple Broadband. Shannon thanked Steve on behalf of the Commission and the citizens of Addison County for his work at ACRPC, ACSWD and especially Maple Broadband, where Steve is using his skills as a network engineer to create a broadband fiber network for all of Addison County.

**Regional Planning Commission** 

Addison	Bridport	Bristol	Cornwall	Ferrisburgh	Goshen	Leicester
Lincoln	Middlebury	Monkton	New Haven	Orwell	Panton	Ripton
Salisbury	Shoreham	Starksboro	Vergennes	Waltham	Weybridge	Whiting

## Addison County Regional Planning Commission

14 Seminary Street Middlebury, VT 05753 • www.acrpc.org • Phone: 802.388.3141

Steve graciously accepted the award, thanking his colleagues that work with him and noting that while Maple Broadband's work is progressing quickly and well, building a fiber optic network takes a lot of time and money and urged all towns to have patience and stick with Maple Broadband.

**Member's Concerns/Chair Comments:** The outgoing Chair, Steve Pilcher, thanked the Commission members for their service and the staff and Executive Director for their support over the past year and looked forward to an interesting and productive future.

Adjournment: There being no further business, Peter Grant moved to adjourn, which all supported. The Commission adjourned its meeting at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Adam Lougee, Director



